Postcards and Pups

Last week this stack of postcards came, a precursor to the thrill of holding the book for the first time, a moment which is now mere weeks away.

The postcards were great swag to hand out at the Hamilton Public Library reading on April 22.  Every reader was strong and distinct and I was thrilled and grateful to see some friends in the audience as well as some of the Hamilton Review of Books editors. The turn-out was strong considering it was a super-sunny day and Monster-jammers had crammed the downtown streets.

Speaking of Hamilton Review of Books, the second issue, which went live this week, is jam-packed with fantastic content, including my review of Rachel Cusk’s novel, Transit here.

Events are lining up: I’ll be on a panel about self-promotion at the Paris branch of the Brantford Public Library on May 13, on a panel about writers’ contracts and a reading at the CCWWP conference at UNB on June 11, interviewed on GetLit on June 15, and launching Smells Like Heaven at Bryan Prince Bookseller on June 20 at 6 p.m.. More details to follow. All are welcome.

It’s book launch season all over, and I’ve been lucky enough to make it out to a couple this week, for Gary Barwin’s No TV for Woodpeckers and John Terptra’s Mischief and for my friend and former colleague Antanas Sileika’s memoir, The Barefoot Bingo Caller, a launch which was especially fun for me as it offered the chance to connect with lots of people from my teaching days at Humber College (and involved bingo calling!) Though I’d allowed myself two hours, I made the QEW Hamilton-Toronto trek in less than 45 minutes, so I had time to see the famous High Park cherry blossoms and meet the incomparable Haggis, a recent Mexican rescue who’s so famous now he has his own Facebook page, The Haggis Report.

20170502_174638

