Found Objects and Launches

Buy More Art

This week I visited some neighbours’ studios on a local artists’ tour and found the above sign propped on the kitchen counter at a house around the corner from me. My mom bought me a resonant work of art made of found objects (including linoleum from the city where I went to university). We would have bought much more art if we could have. My 8-year-old daughter has committed herself to saving up to buy art and was inspired to make this piece out of Battleship pieces, paper clips, earrings and buttons. (Oh, and a piece of wood which may or may not be part of our disassembled sauna):

20170514_203725.jpg

Launch-o-rama

The weeks leading up to a book’s launch into the world can be heady and weird. Suddenly people are talking about your book instead of wondering why you never leave the house or answer the door during the day. Smells Like Heaven is lucky to have two launches on the horizon: one in Hamilton, the city I now call home, and one in Toronto where I lived and worked for over a decade. The Hamilton launch takes place on June 20. Here’s a poster for the Toronto launch:

Another Story SLHposterforweb

Speaking of launches, our magazine Hamilton Review of Books has not only just released its second issue but is hosting a panel and fundraiser next week called “It’s Great and I Like It.” Why are we fundraising? So we can pay our writers! Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 12.57.49 PM.png

