Gushing Gratitude & Bookish Cake

Smells Like Heaven had a swell launch this week in Hamilton at Bryan Prince Bookseller’s new community space. We had standing room only with guests from as far away as Haliburton, Owen Sound, Midland, Brampton and Toronto. Wendy O’Brien, a former colleague and all-around smart lady, interviewed me. The interview was nerve-wracking, vulnerable, funny and wide-ranging. My eight-year-old daughter filmed us from the front row. Adding to the atmosphere, art hung on the walls and from the ceiling–all created by children at my daughters’ school. I couldn’t have asked for more and am beyond grateful to all who came by or sent kind words. I’m thankful for the writer-friends over the years who put in time at writers’ groups and over cafe tables. I was lucky enough to share the night with a few, especially Krista Foss (of Hamilton) and John Miller and Elizabeth Ruth (of Toronto). I must also mention how much I appreciate Kerry-Cranston Reimer of Bryan Prince Bookseller for hosting the event, and my publisher Todd Besant and the staff of ARP Books, without whom the book would still be a file in my MacBook Pro.

19402016_1492508854126304_2854769247400579941_o

A List of News

The Toronto launch is coming up on Wed. June 28 at 7:00 p.m. at Another Story Books.

A Goodreads giveaway has started up today for Smells Like Heaven. It ends June 30.

My interview with GetLit’s Jamie Tennant is up on Jamie’s blog. Listen to it here.

My essay “How Not to Drown” is on TNQ’s 2017 Edna Staebler Personal Essay Contest longlist.

*Photo credits: Daniel Hill

 

